Estimated reading time: 1 minute

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley, and any other food made with these grains. It can be especially difficult to avoid wheat because this means that you should avoid all flours and ingredients made with wheat.

These include:

  • White flour
  • Candeal wheat
  • Graham flour
  • Triticum
  • Kamut wheat
  • Spelled
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat bran

Foods that are usually made with wheat include:

  • Pasta
  • Couscous
  • Bread
  • Flour tortillas
  • Biscuits
  • Muffins
  • Bread rolls
  • Cupcakes
  • Cereals
  • Integral cookies
  • Beers
  • Oats
  • Meat juice sauce
  • Dressings
  • Sauces

This may seem like a long list, but there are gluten-free versions of all these foods available at most stores. You just have to look for them!

The gluten surprises

You may not expect it, but the following foods also contain gluten:

  • Broths in concentrated soups and soup cubes
  • Bread crumbs and croutons
  • Bried foods
  • Imitation fish
  • Ham and hot dogs
  • Matzo
  • Most chips and candies
  • Salad dressings
  • Turkey in its juice
  • Soy sauce
  • Varied rice and pasta

Always be sure to check the nutrition label for ingredients and additives that contain gluten.

If you want to find out about additives, check out our article on this topic: Additives that have gluten.

[Photo from Pixabay]